2012 Mercedes GL Class

2012 Mercedes GL Class
Like Tweet Pin it Share Share Email

Article: 2012 Mercedes GL Class

Today we take a look at the 2nd generation Mercedes GL class, the successor to the original GL class originally released in 2006. According to Mercedes the main focus of the new GL class is on economy and safety, positioning it somewhere in line with the S Class, but more off-road, said Mercedes marketing chief Joachim Schmidt.

Same dimensions – seven seats

The dimensions of the GL hardly change: The length increases by about two centimeters to 5.12 metres, width and height also grow only slightly, and the wheelbase remains the same. As before, there are up to seven seats. New is the electrically operated on demand easy-entry system for access to the third row of seats: Pressing a button will fold down the seats in the middle row, which allows easy entry or exit to the back row. The trunk offers a nearly unchanged 680-2300 liters. In the cockpit there is an all-in-one instrument system consisting of two round dials and a 11.4-inch color screen in between.

Euro-6 diesel with 258 hp

From the previous four diesel engines of the GL class, there are now only two. To date, there are two diesel versions: the GL 350 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY as well as the weaker GL 350 BlueTec with Euro-6 classification. In future, only a GL 350 BlueTec will be offered as the GL 350 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY does not meet Euro-6 emissions standards. The GL 350 BlueTec comes with 258 hp, but also meets the Euro-6 emissions standards. With 7.4 instead of 8.9 or 9.3 liters per 100 kilometers, the three-litre six-cylinder GL 350 BlueTec also uses significantly less fuel.

Eight-cylinder petrol engines

the GL 500 4MATIC BlueEFFICIENCY petrol engine now provides 387 HP instead of 408. Under the hood still lies an eight-cylinder, but the capacity has been reduced from 5.5 to 4.6 litres – but with an added turbocharger. Again, the consumption fell dramatically, from 13.6 to 11.3 litres per 100km. All of the new engines get a standard GL-a start-stop function. All engines comes with a seven-speed automatic transmission called the 7G-Tronic Plus and power steering as standard.

Source: carsbiz.net

Website collected information from anneedumexique.com

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *